Pistoletto. Serpentine. Kensington. London.

What do you do when you find yourself caught in the drops of London’s perpetual gloom and you’re in a garden, vulnerable to the elements, to be more specific, Kensington Gardens?

Here’s what we did. We ducked into the next available roofed shelter we saw and we found ourselves at the doorstep of the Serpentine Gallery. The unacquainted, I was excited. I mean, what do you expect when you chance upon a place so named the Serpentine Gallery. In my mind’s eye, I saw multi-media presentation of serpents… you get my drift. Yes, I took it literally and yes, I was wrong.

The Serpentine Gallery is a modern and contemporary art lover’s hideaway and as we chanced upon the place fairly late in the day, we only had time for one exhibit – Michelangelo Pistoletto’s Mirror of Judgement.

I’m no connoisseur in the appreciation of modern and contemporary art but I loved Pistoletto’s use of raw materials [i.e. corrugated cardboards] to create an accessible maze of individual carved out spaces that is at once whole and separate entities reflective of the distinct point of views he tries to convey in his work.

The experience is almost one of self-discovery as you navigate the maze and approach each new space with hopefully, an open mind. Each space pays homage to a different religion – Buddhism, Islam, Judaism and Christianity, beckoning the viewer to explore the depths of their reflection beyond their religious views. At least that’s what I got out of it.

Watch The Telegraph’s interview with the artist for more insights.

The feature that still haunts my memory is the one in the entrance/ exit – a well-shaft with a mirror placed at the bottom of the installation reflecting the circular skylight from the structure of the Serpentine Gallery. The sense of depth and wonderment hits you all at once and when you catch a glimpse of yourself in the reflection against the wide sky, the sense of insignificance and yet, a strange empowerment hits you. I walked away from that first instillation somewhat bewildered, in awe and curious.

Since my return from London, I’ve had the time to work on some background research and learn more about the exhibition I chanced upon as well as the man behind the work. Pistoletto has been referred to as the poet of the mirror, sage of the arte povera movement, both elements markedly distinct at the Mirror of Judgement exhibit. I am humbled at having had the honour of being exposed to his work and I do hope more Singaporeans get to be exposed to such exhibitions – on this dot of ours or when they’re out there exploring the wide world and all it has to offer.

Just for fun, while Googling information on the Serpentine Gallery, I chanced upon this Youtube video titled – Peggy Sue: Lover Gone [live @ Serpentine Sessions, Hyde Park]. Had to throw this in for the sentimental value of the nickname Peggy Sue which the Director at my ex-agency bestowed on me.

Leave a Reply

