Indulging in Fashion – Singapore Fashion Film Festival

So I spent a total of SGD$72 in a single click to indulge in my passion for fashion, an inside look at the industry I so lust after but am distant from on a professional level.

The Singapore Fashion Film Festival is the first of its kind on this tiny red dot of ours [or at least, to what I’m aware of the happenings on this island] and brings to live the world of high fashion, haute couture, ateliers and designers through a behind-the-scenes look at the industry. For an alternative weekend experience and mass media consumption, do check out the SFFF offerings.

A total of 10 documentaries are available to satiate your designer craves, my 72 bucks has gained me entry to Donatella Versace, Alexander Wang, Secret World of Haute Couture, Hermes, Jean-Paul Gaultier, Chanel and Yves Saint Laurent. The screening venue is also off the beaten track – Sinema, Old School at Mount Sophia and Alliance Francaise Singapore.

Having caught The Day Before: for both Donatella Versace and boy wonder, Alexander Wang, I must say its well worth the ticket price as I lost myself in each short film chronicling the last 36 hours leading up to the most crucial shows for each designer/ design house. The Day Before documentary series is shot by self-professed fashion geek, Loïc Prigent, allowing full and unrestricted access to design studios, model fittings, backstage mayhem that exposes the industry and making it accessible for folks like you and I. 

Loïc Prigent also directed the miniseries Signé Chanel [which I will be catching this weekend] and the documentary Marc Jacobs & Louis Vuitton [which I will unfortunately be missing], both of which were previously aired on the Sundance Channel.

Singapore Fashion Film Festival

So, for a spot of fresh air and activity, run along and book your tickets here.  

Leave a Reply

