Food for Thought, Singapore

Heard the raves but it never struck my mind to visit the place whenever it came crunch time to decide on a venue for breakfast, brunch, lunch, lun-ner [the meal between lunch and dinner], tea, dinner or supper. Fact is, whenever someone mentions the place, I’m usually stuffed to the brim from a meal and cannot fathom stuffing another morsel down my throat or I retreat to the tried-and-tasted places I’ve visited to satisfy that crave for a familiar flavor.

So on a fateful day, my dear friend declared we have ‘lun-ner’ at Food for Thought [no room for questioning] to talk over a serious matter before we adjourned to catch Transformers 3 [which I happen to think is fantastic and the 1.5 review was totally unjustified] and abide by that decision I did.

Braving the scorching sun, I made my way across to Food for Thought from the Singapore Arts Museum [which happened to be teeming with children that day] expecting available seats as it was not a peak meal hour [3pm] only to find the place packed and to be placed on the waiting list. The grouch in me reared its head as I was still radiating heat from the short walk and the space that is Food for Thought is not the most ventilated nor air-conditioned. Threatening to walk out, I appealed to my better side to keep calm, cool and collected, holding on to the believe that “All good things come to those who wait” and sure enough we were showed to our table in about 15 mins.

Hits – concept, menu, servings

Misses – ventilation, service

Props to the simple yet tempting menu, I was on the verge of placing an order of every dish on it. Another hit are the table place mats which delivered subtle yet powerful messaging. As they say, ‘The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach’ and Food for Thought definitely got that memo. I typically get lost in the wafts of smells and the clink of cutlery to pay attention to messages in cafes and the likes [above are the four displayed at our table] so kudos for that.

I know, enough of the blabbering and on to the chow. Let me start with drinks. The Homemade Iced Lemon Tea is simply unbelievable and i encourage every patron to have a go at it. The fragrance of the tea and that lemon twist is the perfect remedy for a scorching blaze of the sun. A cuppa will set you back SGD4.00.

Another drink at our table is the Earl Grey Vanilla Flavored Milkshake at SGD8.50. I did not taste it but according to the folks at my table it is an interesting concoction and i observe what I believe to be blended tea leaves in the milkshake to infuse the flavor. I’m lactose intolerant and when my friend commented that it is a really milky blend, I shunned it like there was no tomorrow.

What i really love about the menu at food for thought is the all-day breakfast menu. It’s something that appeals to the egg-lover in me as I visualise a platter of the golden-yellow glob with a generous sprinkle of ground pepper and the Full Works fit the bill. At SGD18.00, I’m not sure we got the quality the price promised but the portion was generous, including scrambled eggs, bacon, garlic mushrooms, chunky chicken sausage, hash brown, toasted brioche with roasted tomato salad. Not the best scramble I’ve tasted but it does satisfy. Really loved the hash brown balls and the garlic mushrooms – those were the two stars on the entire dish for me.

Suffering a sweet crave on the day of visit, I struggled to land on an order of pancakes as everything sounded delish but landed on one we did and that is the Duo of Pancakes with Milk Chocolate Chunks which is pretty reasonably priced at SGD10.00. The menu reads “All pancakes served with fresh cream & gula melaka syrup” and I am a sucker for the sweet fragrance that is gula melaka and i was let down by the lack of flavor of the gula melaka syrup. The milk chocolate chunks saved the day in redeeming the dish and delivering the sweetness that I crave but i must give props to the pancake batter which is light, fluffy, well-flavored with the right amount of spring. Are you drooling yet ’cause I am writing up this post.

As with every cafe, a good selection of sides is important and between the four of us, we polished off two –  the Rosemary Garlic Fries and the Potato Gratin. I absolutely love the fries, I think it’s one of the best fries I’ve had but I did wish that the Rosemary Garlic salts were of a stronger flavor. I actually had my fries with ground pepper to enhance the flavor but hey, it’s personal preference right? The serving’s huge and at SGD4.00 a platter, it was worth every cent spent.

The Potato Gratin was passable but I did love the pull of the stringy cheese when we first dug into the dish. At SGD5.00, it’s definitely worth an order but I think we had one too many potato dishes which proofed to be more than we could handle.

Being “lun-ner,” a main course was ordered and the person who ordered the dish enjoyed every last grain of the Calamari, Prawn and Salmon Risotto but the rest of the table was less than impressed by the dish at SGD18.00. I’ve got to say though, I’m curious to give the Broccoli & Bacon Risotto a taste when i visit next.

Ending the meal on a sweet note, a dainty serving of what i call The Leftovers [failed to capture the name at the counter] but it is everything you sin and crave – chocolate brownie chunks slathered in chocolate fudge, caramelised banana and topped with peanut butter. Just the thought of it is enough to put a smile on my face.

GETTING THERE

3 thoughts on “Food for Thought, Singapore

  1. Pingback: Epicurious, Singapore. | Wanderlust Annamolly

  2. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have
    you share some stories/information. I know my readers would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me
    an email.

Leave a Reply

